Domino, Notes and videotape
Header

Tests

In the past two weeks a lot of my Facebook contacts have been posting this “What Would I Look Like as a Movie star” results from a test taken via the Nametests app. DO NOT TAKE THESE TESTS!

Consider this. A person says the following to you: “Give me access to all your personal information, your photos, the contact information about all your friends and everything you write or say in the future, and I will tell you what celebrity you look like.”

What would you say? My guess is: Fuck off!

However, when people are given the same choice on Facebook, they say: “Yes, let me know what celebrity I look like!”

Do people really think Nametests (that’s the perpetrator for this test) make tests like this out of the kindness of their hearts? When you give Nametests access to your Facebook profile, you have to accept several pages of terms, that are written in such a difficult lawyer language that you really don’t understand what you are saying yest to. But hey, it’s all for fun, right?

Wrong! You are giving them access to not only your information, but also the information of your friends. They immediately start searching through your friends list on Facebook, gathering whatever information they can that your friends haven’t locked securely away. This is most likely sold to spammers who will use the information to things I’m sure your friends wouldn’t like.

So why do you take that risk just because you want to take a silly test?

What you’re really doing is this: you’re “purchasing” a test about you, and “pay” by allowing them access to your friend list and Facebook wall—including all your past, current and future posts.

So what if you’ve already used Nametests? Is it too late? No, you can remove it by going to your Security Settings in Facebook, find the lists of apps you have given access to your account and then remove Nametests and all other apps you’ve given similar access. Get rid of them, now!

Rule of thumb: If an app asks you for access to your Facebook account, with a lot of legal mumbo jumbo language, do no install it! Simple as that. Send me a photo instead, and I will tell you what celebrity you look like. And I won’t even ask for any of your or your Facebook friends’ personal information.

Aren’t there times when you where you are itching to post a scatching status posting about something or someone? But you can’t do it, because you don’t want any persons involved to read your posting.

Luckily Facebook has a function not many people know about that lets you do just that: Post something and then tell what people should not be allowed to read neither the posting itself, or any likes or comments either.

This is how you do it:

Write your posting:

Status posting

 

To the left of the Post button you have a pulldown menu:

Visibility button

 

Click on this button:

Pulldown menu

 

Go to Friends except… and click on it. This screen pops up (I have anonymized people in my list, but you will see your friends’ profile photos, names and workplace):

Friends list

 

In the top of my list I have the two last persons I blocked from seeing a posting. You can see that they are active, because of the red circle behind their names. If I do want them to see this posting, I simply click on the red icon, so that it becomes white:

Uncheck

Now the person in the top of the list will not be included in this exception list.

To choose a person that should not see this new posting, you simply search for their name in the search field:

Search field

 

Type as many letters as needed in the search field until you see the name of the person listed. Then simply click on the circle to the right of their name:

Check name

 

After clicking on it, it will turn red:

Checked

 

If there are other people you want to hide this posting from, simply search for them as well and click on the circle icon behind their names.

When you have found all the names you simply click on the button Save Changes.

However, it can be a good idea to review the list of people you want to block. To do so, click on the little x to the right inside the search field:

Close search

 

Now you can see the list of all the people you have blocked for this posting:

List of blocked people

As you can see I have two people whom I want to block from seeing this posting. The person I removed from the block list is still listed among the others that I’ve chosen, but as we can see the icon behind the name is white, which means he won’t be blocked.

Click Save Changes. You will now return to this screen:

Chosen

 

As you can see on the pulldown button, this posting will now be shown to all friends, except the ones you just chose. You can even see the names of people it should be hidden for it you click on  the pulldown arrow in the button:

Friends except

 

If you change this to Public or Friends, the people you just picked will still see the posting, like everybody else. You choice has to stay on Friends except…

However, the next time you choose Friends except…, all the people you just added to this list will still be listed here. So if you want any of them to see the posting the next time you choose Friends except…, you have to actively remove them from the list.

So that’s how you hide a posting from selected individuals. Neat, eh?